The Missouri General Assembly is the state legislature of the State of Missouri and is composed of two chambers: the House of Representatives and the Senate. The General Assembly is responsible for creating laws for governing the State of Missouri.


To find out who your local representative is, visit the following website:

To learn more about the status of Bills in session, visit the following website:


Silver-Haired Legislature
The Silver Haired Legislature, or SHL as it is often called, is a formally elected body of citizens 60 years of age and older that promote conscientious legislative advocacy for Missouri’s older adults.

All members are volunteers who serve without pay. Elections are held annually during the month of May at local area agencies on aging nutrition or senior centers. Senior citizens elect three senators and twelve representatives from each of the ten area agencies on aging for a total of 30 senators and 120 representatives. Following elections, the legislators meet to elect officers and begin to ascertain the needs of seniors in their districts. Bills and resolutions are then drawn up and prepared for presentation at the statewide conference in the fall.

The SHL meets for two days in the fall to conduct a model legislative session. At that time, members present, debate and vote on a pre-prepared docket of bills and resolutions that concern legislation, which affects the lives of not only the elderly but all Missouri citizens. From the docket, five bills having the highest priority are selected as the group’s main focus for the upcoming year.


If you are interested in becoming a member of your local Silver-Haired Legislature group, contact us at


You local Silver-Haired Legislature representatives are:

House District #1 – Greene County
Dorothy Knowles
Mary Chronister
Jim Warren
Chuck Wooten

House District #2 – Oregon, Shannon and Texas Counties
Dale Johnson

House District #3 – Dade, Dallas and Polk Counties
Zoli Vajda

House District #4 – Barry, Lawrence, and Stone Counties
Richard Meyerkord
Open Seat

House District #5 – Christian, Douglas, and Taney Counties
Ron Clark
Donald Stewart

House District #6 – Howell and Ozark Counties
Diane White

House District #7 – Webster and Wright Counties
Open Seat

Central Senatorial District – Greene County
Jonnie Cross

East  Senatorial District – Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright Counties
Dona Lawson

West Senatorial District – Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Lawrence, Polk and Stone Counties
Open Seat

Jim Lawson